Did you know that car seats are required in Texas for children until they reach the age of 8? And, even then, they must be secured in a safety belt or child restraint system. But what are the specific requirements for car seats in Texas? And when do child passengers need to use a booster seat? Keep reading to learn more about Texas car seat laws and how they might effect filing a personal injury lawsuit.
Texas requires car seats for all children and infants to protect them while traveling in motor vehicles. When someone violates these laws and injures your child, you should know your rights to seek compensation and justice. If you need a Texas car accident lawyer to fight for your child’s rights, The Miller Law Firm is here to help. Here are some of the most significant Texas car seat laws you should be aware of and how they can impact your personal injury case.
Texas Car Seat Laws
Texas Car Seat Laws aren’t complicated but they are important to always follow closely. You’ll need to be aware of several different regulations if you have children or if someone else will be driving with your child such as school/day care, family members/friends or nannies, including:
- Up to 2 Years old: All infants and toddlers should ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are 2 years old, or until they reach the highest weight or height allowed by their safety seat’s manufacturer.
- 2 to 4 Years Old: Any child two or older who has outgrown the rear-facing weight or height limit for a car seat, should use a forward-facing car seat with a harness for as long as possible, up to the highest weight or height allowed by their car seat’s manufacturer. This also applies to any child younger than two years who has outgrown the rear-facing weight or height limit of their seat.
- 4 to 8 Years Old: Children whose weight or height exceeds the limit for a forward-facing car seat should switch to a belt-positioning booster seat. These children should remain in a booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they reach 4 feet 9 inches in height and are between eight and 12 years of age and are over 80 pounds.
Is It Illegal to Leave a Child In the Car Unattended in Texas?
According to Chapter 22 of the Texas Penal Code makes it illegal to intentionally or knowingly leave a child under seven in an unattended vehicle for more than 5 minutes. The law specifically states that children under six must be supervised by a person at least 14 years old. Individuals who leave children unattended can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor and be fined up to $500.
Children Injured While Riding with Daycare or School
When it comes to child injury, many people think that the only responsible party is the parents. After all, they are the ones who are in charge of their children and are legally obligated to ensure their safety. However, there are other parties that can be held liable for a child’s injuries as well, including daycares. If you believe your child was injured in a vehicle due to improper car seating while under the care of a daycare worker, you may be able to sue them for damages.
What Should You Do After A Child Injury from a Car Seat Violation
If your child has been injured due to someone not obeying the Texas car seat laws you can file a lawsuit and pursue compensation. A personal injury attorney can help you pursue maximum compensation to cover medical bills, pain and suffering, and wrongful death if the injuries proved fatal. Reckless and negligent parties, companies and individuals should always be held accountable for your child’s injuries. Punitive damages can also sometimes be granted when trying to teach the company/individual an example so the tragedy never happens again to other children. An experienced car accident lawyer can build a compelling case against them.
Contact an Experienced Texas Car Accident Attorney
Was your child seriously injured in a car accident? You might be entitled to compensation. The experienced personal injury attorneys at The Miller Law Firm are here to help. We know that the process of finding an attorney can be difficult so we hope this guide was helpful for you. To find out what your case might be worth or to request a free case review please call The Miller Law Firm at 713-572-3333 today. We are happy to answer any questions about our services at your convenience.